Book Review: Seeing Jesus

416000_1_ftc

Jesus took them through the writings of Moses and all the prophets, explaining from all the Scriptures the things concerning himself. (Luke 24:27)

I am excited to share this book with you! It is not infrequent that I hear remarks that the Old Testament isn’t relevant, or that it is boring. This makes my heart sad, because the Old Testament points to Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith! The Old Testament is a dramatic story of God’s mercy and grace, and it should not be avoided. In my personal experience, I’ve found that reading and studying the Old Testament makes the New Testament even more alive for me. I am thankful that Nancy Guthrie wrote this little book, called Seeing Jesus: Seeking and Finding Him in the Scriptures, to clarify for the reader how we see Jesus in the Hebrew Scriptures.

This book is a collection of sixty short devotionals, ones that are ripe with content yet brief enough to consume in a matter of minutes (even if you’re not rushing). Each devotional is arranged as such:

  • a title (captures the main theme of the entry)
  • a Scripture passage from the Old Testament
  • a connecting passage from the New Testament
  • a thesis statement
  • ~2 page devotional that proves the thesis from Scripture
  • a brief prayer

I very much enjoyed reading every one of these pages! I don’t suggest reading multiple entries at a time, or even really one per day. Each entry portrays a beautiful characteristic of our Lord, and reserving time to process what you’ve read and meditate on the truths learned is imperative, in my opinion. Savor it!

Soli Deo gloria,

blogsig_ashley

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House.

2 responses

  1. Sounds like something I need! I’ve always really enjoyed the OT because it reads like a story 🙂 Would be nice to more obviously see the connections between OT and New.

  2. susanannejohnson | Reply

    I have loved Nancy Guthrie’s other books. I will definitely get this one too.

Leave a Reply

