Reading List [2016 Edition]

books

I love to read. I’ll admit that All the Light We Cannot See ruined me on it for a while. Every word of that book was a delicious morsel, and I struggled to see why I should pick up another book that couldn’t possibly be that good. But then I read The Nightingale . . . and now I’m back in the saddle again. Just in time for a new year and a new list!

Last year was a year of fiction – lots and lots of fiction, some amazing, some less so. For 2016, I’ve chosen to be more balanced in my reading diet, mostly out of conviction. I’ve also put fewer books on my list to make room for review books that come available throughout the year. All that to say: Let’s start reading!

Fiction Titles

The Lake House by Kate Morton
Brooklyn by Colm Toibin
Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy
Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys
The Girl from the Train by Irma Joubert
The Gilded Hour by Sara Donati
Secrets of a Charmed Life by Susan Meissner
Not by Sight by Kate Breslin
The Light Between the Oceans by M. L. Stedman
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
Longbourn by Jo Baker
The Paris Architect by Charles Belfoure

Of course, I’ll have my annual reading of Pride & Prejudice in September.

Non-Fiction Titles

The Freedom of Self-Forgetfulness by Tim Keller
Instructing a Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp
Just Show Up by Kara Tippetts
Big Love by Kara Tippetts
Addictions: A Banquet in the Grave by Ed Welch
Uprooting Anger by Robert D. Jones
When Helping Hurts by Steve Corbett & Brian Fikkert
The Peacemaker by Ken Sande
War of Words by Paul David Tripp
Made for More by Hannah Anderson
The Pastor’s Wife by Gloria Furman
What’s Best Next by Matt Perman
Loving the Way Jesus Loves by Phil Ryken
Before the Throne of God by Carol Ruvolo

I’ll also read and review Better than Before: Mastering the Habits of our Everyday Lives by Gretchen Rubin, because I won it in a Goodreads giveaway. Happy New Year to me!

There you have it: my reading list for 2016. If you’re on Goodreads, be sure to find me! It would be fun to see what you’re feasting on this year, too.

Happy reading, friends!

blogsig_ashley

2 responses

  1. Love your list! I never know what to read in fiction, since I usually stick to non-fiction. I’m thankful for all of you wonderful suggestions! I think ill try a little fiction this year 🙂

    1. I’d love to know what you end up reading! I’m super picky about the fiction I read, and right now I’m on a set-in-Europe-during-WWII phase. 😉 So you might find that my list lacks variety!! ha!

Leave a Reply

