Book Review: Forgiven

217326_1_ftcI’m not sure that I have an abundance of words for this book. Written by Terri Roberts, mother of the Amish school shooting perpetrator, Forgiven tells the story of otherworldly forgiveness extended to her family by the Amish community. (To get a brief refresher on the details of the event, click here.)

To be sure, the forgiveness cataloged in these pages in inspiring and moving. A few times, tears fell as I felt the weight of the burden carried by each family and the immediacy with which they extended love to the Roberts family. Yet the book didn’t resonate with me on the deeper soul-levels, as I had anticipated.

My only reservation in zealously recommending this book likely stems from a personal preference. To me, the book felt more journalistic than narrative in nature, a simple relating of facts. Perhaps this was a deliberate choice, to keep the reader’s eyes focused on the Lord and not the complexities of the events. But I do wish the story had been told with more grip, that the people had been painted in a more three-dimensional manner.

Overall, Forgiven is worth the read.

*In exchange for my honest opinion, I received a free copy of this title from Bethany House.

One response

  1. Sounds like it would be an interesting glimpse into the aftermath.

Leave a Reply

