September (and a bit of October)

WhatsNew_Header_flat

As we celebrate our eleventh anniversary today, I think we are beginning to settle into real life. Life in Louisville, before work and seminary, was a kind of fairy tale. No responsibilities. Plenty to explore. Abounding fun.

Real life is exactly as busy as we anticipated it would be, and it has taken longer than we expected to find the proper balance of church/home/work/school. Speaking of church: We joined Baxter Avenue Church at the end of September! We are thankful to the Lord that He led us to such a body, one that regularly practices bestowing upon one another the love of Christ.

I started school (with students) on September 3. Honestly, I forgot how challenging it is to be in the classroom. Being self-contained and having only ten students has a plethora of advantages, make no mistake! But mastering the volume of material has been, at times, overwhelming. At long last I sense that homeostasis has returned, and for that I am grateful! Knowing how to interact with the material I’m teaching helps a lot. So do the supportive co-workers! 🙂

It took me a few weeks, but I have begun to enjoy my course at Southern’s Seminary Wives’ Institute. It’s not that I didn’t appreciate what we’re learning; it’s that I didn’t have time to enjoy it. Now that things have settled a bit, I have enjoyed applying the spiritual disciplines we discuss. I’ve also made a couple of very sweet friends that make my Thursday evenings a bit brighter!

I would appreciate prayer for:

  • depth and breadth in my time with the Lord
  • continued, increasing joy at work
  • a heart that overflows the love of Jesus onto my students
  • continued development of relationships at church, at the seminary, and at work (Can’t I just be an extrovert?!)
  • continued improvement in time management

Evan has completed half of his first semester! This week was his fall break, which meant he read, read a little more, and then kept reading. He enjoys the course work despite the difficulty in finding a balance between that and working part-time. He has enjoyed a few budding relationships with godly men from our church and at the seminary. At the end of September we saw The Screwtape Letters at the Brown Theater. With dinner before, that event turned out to be a fun time of fellowship with other students from Evan’s New Testament class!

Evan desires prayer for:

  • the Lord to multiply his time and provide additional means of efficiency in his day
  • our cat, who has a urinary tract infection
  • more time for ministry
  • decisions about next semester’s courses
  • wisdom in deciding to take / not to take a J-term course

I’m sure there is more to write, but instead I must answer the piles of laundry that call my name! We miss you, our Texas friends, and wish to hear from you!

Love in Christ,

blogsig_ashley

P.S. — I forgot to mention something regarding Texas v. OU. HOOK ‘EM HORNS!

Leave a Reply

